Lazy Me

I’m a lazy person. Really, I am. I love just sitting quietly and reading a book. I love taking naps. I hate cleaning. Sometimes getting up to refill my water bottle is utterly taxing. I have said to my daughter when she asks me to “come here”, “I can’t…I’m too lazy.” I am lazy, and proud of it.

Most people who know me don’t believe me when I say I am lazy, but I am. Or, I want to be. But, I can’t. I am a lazy person (who does all the things mentioned above) stuck in a motivated, can’t-sit-still person. On the days that I say I am my laziest, are usually the days that I have just ridden 40 miles, or ran a long distance. So, I guess I am allowed to be lazy.

Here is the issue at hand; this triathlon business has really gotten in the way of my laziness. Well, really my biggest issue is that it has gotten in the way of my reading. Case in point – on Saturday when we did our practice triathlon, I was swimming/riding/running for about 4-1/2 hours. In that time I could have easily (if uninterrupted) read about 100 pages of the book that is currently taking me almost two months to read – something that is unheard of in the world of Stacie reading books.

I miss reading because if I am not training I am working, and if I am not working I am with my family, or I am sleeping because I am too tired to do anything else.

I know. I know. I chose this. I opted in for the event of my lifetime. But, I can still lament the things that are sitting there on my table by my chair calling out to me, missing me as much as I miss them. My books. My beloved friends who take me on adventures into far off lands, and into times I will never truly know.

Don’t worry friends. I haven’t forgotten about you. Only a few more weeks, the triathlon will be over and I can become the slothful person I know is inside of me somewhere. (Yeah right.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

