Swimming Update

Because I know you are all dying to know how my open water swims are going, I thought I would give you a little update. Well, I have to say, they are freakin’ fantastic!

After that first anxiety ridden swim, things have gotten better each time. Of course, because there is no longer that fear my expectations begin to be set. And, if I don’t meet the expectations I have set for myself, I get frustrated and angry with myself. As my coach Erin reminds me of all the time, I am way too hard on myself. She is right…I know that about myself. I always have been – one day I will ease up. (right.)

Carrie Cheadle tells me to relax. When I am tense I am slower. So, I have relaxed. I no longer care about the other swimmers in the water. I am not worried about how far ahead of me they are. It doesn’t matter. I now just swim along…it is as though I am alone in the water and I am just swimming along. Sometimes I channel Dory from “Finding Nemo” and sing to myself, “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.” And that is what I do.

Dory from "Finding Nemo"

So, what has this easing up accomplished? From the first swim to the last swim I did, I have shaved about 15 minutes from my time. Of course, the first swim was ridiculously slow, but I look at it as though I could have never improved from that. I am celebrating the accomplishment, because really just getting in the water that second time was a cause for celebration.

In my book, I would say things are going along rather swimmingly!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

