The Bad Dream

Tomorrow is the big day. I was going to sleep in this morning, but was awoken by a horrible dream and couldn’t get back to sleep.

The dream? I missed the triathlon.

I woke up late to several missed calls from Coach Erin wondering where I was. She was standing outside my house waiting for me, but then just left. I tried calling her, but I couldn’t find her number in my phone, then the power went out. Matt finally found the number and got Erin on the line. (It was about 10 a.m. by this time and the race was in full swing.)

Erin spoke with a race director-type person and they said I could start late. The problem? I had also missed the Expo, (didn’t anybody miss me at the expo? Why didn’t anyone call? Didn’t my cousin notice I hadn’t dropped Sunshine off at her house?) so didn’t have my race number and didn’t have transition two set up. We would have to do that first.

We went into the race office where I stood waiting while the lady behind the counter talked about her due date with one of her co-workers…I was standing there in my tri –gear watching the time tick by. I had to sign a waiver saying that if a seal swam up behind me I wouldn’t do anything to it – just let it swim by. Um, seals in the river?

I woke up in a panic, and woke Matt up asking him what day it was. He responded, “Friday.” I said, “I had a dream that I missed the triathlon.” Without missing a beat he said, “No such luck.” (My husband is funny even when half-awake.)

I emailed my training partners and told them the dream, and told Erin that if I am not outside my house in the morning, to pound on the door.

Needless to say, I did not fall back to sleep. But, I don’t know if it was the horrible dream or the horrible song going through my head as I tried falling back to sleep…

 UGH!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

