I am thankful

I am not a holiday person. Right around this time of the year I start feeling a little blue and often fail to see the great things, people, and moments around me. I see everything through grey-colored glasses. But, for some reason, this year is different. Yes. I still feel a little blue, but in that melancholy-haze I can see the things I should, and am, thankful for.  I thought it would be best to list them out – in no particular order.

  1. My parents – they have stood by me through some of the stupidest moments in my life and loved me even though I was probably making the wrong choices. They taught me to believe in myself, but more importantly, they taught me to love myself.
  2. My husband, who has literally been there through thick and thin (well, getting thin). We have grown up together…we have been together through the good and the bad. He supports me in whatever new shenanigan I come up with. I am pretty sure if I said I wanted to run the Bad Water, he would say that was the best idea ever.
  3. My daughter, who inspires me every day to be a better person.
  4. My friends. My friends are the people who are in my life not because they have to be, but because they choose to be. They make me laugh when I need laughter, and are there to support me when I feel my weakest. My friends remind me that I am pretty, smart, strong and articulate. J
  5. Erin. Erin started out as my coach, and has become a mentor and friend. Erin has taught me to see in myself what she sees in me – whether as an athlete or a coach, Erin has pushed me beyond all limits I once used to hold myself back.
  6. Joy of Jill B. Nimble. I am mostly thankful to Joy for creating Jill B. Nimble. By becoming a “Jill” I have seen myself in a whole new light; met some of the most amazing women, and have forged new friendships with women who inspire and motivate me every day. I am also thankful to Joy for allowing me to coach other Jills as they begin/continue their journeys…on bike, foot or in the water.
  7. Carrie Cheadle…while Erin has helped me out bodily, Carrie has helped me mindfully through each of my athletic endeavors. Carrie has taught me some wonderful skills, because so much of what I do as an athlete relies more on what my mind is doing than what my body is doing.
  8. The wonderful women I run with. I may be their coach, but they motivate me and inspire me every time we are out running.
  9. I am grateful for where I live.
  10. I am thankful, mostly, that I can do the things that I do. I am grateful every day that I can ride a bike, swim, run, read, walk, teach, hug the people I love, cuddle with my dog…so many more things could go on this list.

I am sure there are more things I should, and am, grateful for. While I trudge through this holiday season, sometimes feeling blue about the people I miss so much, I will come back to this list and remind myself that there are so many things and people to be grateful for. People and things and moments right here for me to experience.

Take a minute…what are you thankful for?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

