Less than a week

On Saturday I will be getting in a car and heading to Sacramento to run my first marathon. I can’t believe how quickly it has come. I am a little (OK, a lot) freaked out.

I am nervous because I am feeling all these little aches and pains in my body. My heel hurts. My shin hurts sometimes. My hamstring hurts. My back hurts. Very rarely do all these things hurt at the same time. Sometimes I think it is more psychosomatic than real pain.

The other day I came back from a particularly crappy run. I said, “I am freaking out” to my husband. His response? “Freaking out is a perfect way to deal with it.” He was being sarcastic…but he was right. Worrying/freaking out isn’t going to make running this marathon any easier.  As Carrie Cheadle  has always said, I can’t control things outside myself – even the aches and pains – but I can control how I deal with and react to them. So, I am focusing on what I can control.

I already started packing my bag…my running clothes are clean and ready to go.

I am also going to complete this great pre-preformance worksheet I got from Carrie (you can see an example of hers here). In it I can “plan” what my day/week is going to look like. This will be the first time I have used this sheet, and am really interested to see how it compares to things I have gone into without pre-planning my performance.

Of course, I will let you know how it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Less than a week

  1. Leslie says:

    Yay, Stacie! I’ll be thinking of you and silently cheering you on…can’t wait to hear how it goes.
    Hugs–Leslie

    • stacie says:

      Thanks! I am quite nervous. We were looking at pictures of the course last night and my stomach was doing some amazing acrobatics! I will definitely let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

