Fair Weather Runner

I had the day off of work today. I had a plan…I was going to take Sunshine to school, go out for a run with Todd and then meet my friend for breakfast. Sounds great, right? What I didn’t plan was the downpouring rain. But I was not deterred. I put on my running clothes (three layers deep), a hat, a pair of gloves and my shoes, grabbed Todd’s leash and out the door we went – wind and rain be damned.

I didn’t know I liked running in the rain until I had no choice but to run in the rain. A few years ago, while working with a running coach I asked him what I should do for my workouts when it was raining and he looked at me like I was an idiot and said, “wear a jacket and a hat.” Maybe it was the residual Minnesotan in me – you know, the one who would NEVER think of exercising in the winter, much less when it was raining or snowing – that just couldn’t fathom running during inclimate weather.

Many of my long runs during marathon training were done in the rain. It was often a light drizzle, but rain nonetheless. It was over these long miles that I realized running in the rain was quite enjoyable…

I don’t get as hot because there is a consistent cool “mist”; I love the sound of the rain as well as my feet hitting the wet pavement; I love running through puddles (Todd loves it more though); I love listening to the rain and wind through the leaves of the trees; lastly, I love being one of the very few out on the road.

My desire to run in the rain also solidifies, for me, that I really am a runner. Someone not really committed to running would easily give up her run, and that was me a few years ago. When I was told to put a jacket and a hat on, I didn’t. Instead I did a modified workout at the gym, or didn’t go out at all, thinking I would “make up for it later” but never did. I was definitely a fair weather runner.

No longer being a member of a gym, it is either I deal with the rain or I don’t get my run in.  I could say “I have no choice” but I do have a choice…I can choose not to run. I can choose to be a fair weather runner, but I choose all weather running, because runners are runners no matter what the weather.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fair Weather Runner

  1. Leslie Crohn says:

    I love running in the rain! I feel closer to nature or something–I don’t know. I also discovered, I love running in the snow and cold of Minnesota! It’s just about being out there and doing what we love….rain or shine!

Leave a Reply

