Can’t Touch This Wii

In Weight Watchers, exercise is called “activity”. I think it is called activity so people don’t get put off from having to exercise. For some reason that word has such a negative connotation. I don’t really call exercise, exercise either…I call it my life. I love to ride my bike, go for runs and go swimming, so while I sometimes have my off days when I just don’t feel like doing anything, I ultimately love getting out there and moving, so there isn’t a problem. However, recently I have found that exercise doesn’t have to just be about those three things, or even going for a walk. I can get real exercise in the comfort of my own home.

When we got our Wii for Christmas I knew I would do the Wii Fit pretty regularly, and do. We also purchased Just Dance2 right away because my daughter loves to dance. The two of us play that quite often, and have lots of fun bustin’ moves in our living room. Just this past weekend we bought the first Just Dance and a Zumba for Wii and I have fallen in love!

I can put on any one of those Wii games and start moving and I forget that I am exercising, often getting surprised to find I am sweating. I love doing the games by myself, but it is even more fun with Sunshine. We give each other high fives at the end of a song and congratulate each other on getting a higher score than the last time we danced to that particular song. (Sometimes, when we here a song on the radio we have learned on Just Dance, Sunshine and I will do the moves we remember. J)

Whenever people ask me for advice on starting to run or just exercising, the first thing I tell them is to find something they like doing. They need to find something they will want to do 3-5 days a week. If you aren’t having fun, you won’t want to do it. I feel lucky that I like doing the things I do…I love training for different events. However, over the last couple of months of having our Wii, I have learned that sometimes it isn’t about that next event I am training for. Sometimes it is just about getting the steps down to MC Hammer’s “Can’t Touch This”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t Touch This Wii

  1. I love the Wii and have both of the Just Dance games. The Zumba game isn’t out here yet but it will be in a few weeks and I can’t wait to get it! I also just got Dance on Broadway which I haven’t tried yet, but which looks like a lot of fun! I went for a while without playing on the Wii, but now it’s pretty much my only form of exercise as I hate the gym and I don’t run, although I plan to give it a try once the weather picks up. Good to know that you’re liking the Zumba!!

  2. Tisha says:

    I admire your passion for running. I always thought it would be cool to just go out for a “morning run.” Unfortunately I despise it.

    Just Dance II is the business! So fun! I have GOT to get the Zumba one! How fun would a Sidebar dance off be?!

Leave a Reply

