Week Three Highlights

Week Three continued to be filled with running, swimming and cycling. There were two really great highlights to my week…

I took the day off of work on Friday. As I have mentioned before, I don’t get paid when I don’t work, so making the decision to take the day off was not an easy one, but I knew that it was necessary. My editing job has been really stressful lately – there is a lot of work to do, not enough time to do it, and very little recognition for the work that I do accomplish in the short hours I work. But, that is another post entirely…with this in mind, I knew that if I didn’t take a day off, I was going to have a breakdown – and that ain’t pretty.

It worked out that Matt could take the day off as well, so it was a double bonus!

I woke up at 7am (to some that is still early, but to me that is sleeping in an extra three hours!), and after getting Sunshine moving on her day, went off to Weight Watchers (lost only .4 pounds…was disappointed that with my uptick in activity I am not losing more, but oh well) and then to the gym for a swim. (Hey! That rhymes!)

After swimming, I met Matt for coffee and then back home to get ready for a bike ride. This was quite a treat because it isn’t very often that Matt and I can go for a bike ride together. It was a short, but enjoyable ride…have I mentioned yet that it was a gorgeous day?

After the ride we grabbed Todd from the house and went to have lunch at Aqus Cafe and then it was time to get Sunshine from school. I wasn’t ready to call it a day, so we all went bowling.

We really had a great time, and it was a much needed day of relaxation and no deadlines.

The second highlight was on my Saturday bike ride. It was the first foray up Wilson Hill. I can’t say if it was easier than last year…I actually think I blocked out the pain of riding up it last year – kind of like childbirth. If I remembered how hard it was, would I ever agree to ride it again?!

What I learned was that I have to regain my confidence on downhills. The downhill on Wilson is rather steep and has lots of turns. I wasn’t wholly confident on the hybrid, and I am even less confident now. But, Carrie Cheadle, Mental Skills Coach extraordinaire gave me some good advice:

1. Take a bike skills class and 2. breathe, because holding my breath created tension.

When she mentioned breathing, I immediately realized that I wasn’t breathing at all when going downhill. I was totally holding my breath, praying to the cycling Gods to not let me fall of my bike. So, next time I am going downhill, instead of focusing on all the horrible possibilities, I am just going to breathe.

And really, I should think of doing that more often. The day off I took was like taking a big deep breath, and the stress I was feeling really melted away. I know it is going to build again…but next time I will remember to breathe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week Three Highlights

  1. Meghan says:

    Breathing is good. Helps you continue in being awesome!

Leave a Reply

