Without Even Knowing

Once again I am at the end of another week and have yet to mark the highlight of the previous week. Needless to say, things have been quite hectic around here and I just haven’t had time to sit and write my thoughts. Anyway…

Going downhill is getting better. I have started hearing Carrie’s voice in my head saying, “breathe” and that has made all the difference. I have also changed the way I am sitting when going downhill, so I feel a bit more in control. In fact, on our ride last week I got up to about 35 mph and didn’t even panic!

My biggest highlight of the week was swimming. We did our second benchmark swim of training. It was cold and windy the morning I did mine. I shuddered as I drove past the temperature sign telling me it was only 42 degrees out. I thought to myself, “I must be insane.” But, in the pool I went.

I did a few warm up laps and then hit start on my watch. I wasn’t feeling particularly strong that morning – I just wanted to get through my swim. After each set of 10 I hit the lap button on my watch, not looking to see what lap I was on. While some laps felt stronger than others, I felt slow and kept thinking I wasn’t going to hit the 100 laps that I did in my first benchmark swim. But, I told myself that didn’t matter and I just kept on
swimming. Finally, 45 minutes had passed and I hit stop for the final time. Then I looked.

I had done 11 sets of 10 laps in 45 minutes and three seconds! That was 10 more laps than last time and in less time (first benchmark was 10 sets of 10 in 45 minutes and 16 seconds)! I was floored! All that time swimming I felt like I was going slow because I didn’t feel like I was working hard enough…and all that time it was simply because I had gotten stronger without ever really knowing it.

I guess sometimes strength and improvement just sneaks up on you without you even knowing…or at least feels like it does.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

