Finally…

I am FINALLY sleeping through the night with no nightmares about getting a flat tire or missing the race. While I continue to feel nervous, I now feel well rested.

I was talking to Mental Skills Coach extraordinare Carrie Cheadle about feeling more nervous this year than last. She asked if I was placing heavy expectations upon myself, and I honestly don’t feel like I am. I think it is because I KNOW what to expect. I KNOW what it is going to feel like running 13.1 miles after swimming 1.2 and riding 56. I no longer have the blissful ignorance of a newbie.

Well, with that in mind, I am focusing on the GOOD part of knowing…Yes. I know it is going to be hard, but I keep remembering that last year, as hard as it was, I was having a blast. And, I was SO PROUD of myself after doing it – I don’t think I will be any less proud of myself this time, no matter what happens.

I am going into Saturday willing to accept whatever the day brings, because no matter what the day brings me, I will complete 70.3 miles and I will continue to be a triathlete.  As my friend Julie says, “Stacie doesn’t quit.”

No. She doesn’t.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

