Magic doesn’t mean perfection

I used to draw and paint, but I stopped  because I was always disappointed with the results. What was in my head just wasn’t what ended up on the canvas, or the pot I was painting. I remember one time Matt said, “it’s the flaws that give the pieces their character.” (Or something like that.) But I didn’t want flaws…I wanted perfection.

Last week my Weight Watcher leader challenged the group to select 3-4 days of “magic”. Basically, what this meant was that for those days we selected, we had to truly follow the plan – not half-ass it. By taking on this challenge, I promised to weigh and measure everything I ate or drank, I promised to “just say no” to treats and glasses of wine, and I promised to track my food and activity every day. I promised to be perfect. I was excited…I have been struggling with this last 10-15 pounds for longer than I care to admit. I needed a challenge to make it new – and I work better when challenged. So, I selected my days.

My first day was Friday. I had all my meals for the day planned, I knew what I was doing and it was easy for me to “just say no” to wine because I had a big run the next morning. Things were going along swimmingly, and then  Sunshine’s friend’s mom called saying Sunshine could spend the night. This meant Matt and I could go out on a date! I was thrilled (we don’t get out much) and worried all at the same time. If we went out was I going to be able to hold it together? Was I going to be able to hold up the deal I had made with myself to not drink? Was I going to be perfect?

We went to an Italian restaurant we had been wanting to try for a long time. We looked at the menu online, so I kind of had an idea of what I was going to get before we even got there. However, I have done this before and once I get to the restaurant I usually throw the plan out the window. Instead of wine, I had a pomegranate Italian soda…I ordered a delicious salad instead of the pasta dishes I was eying…I didn’t eat any of the bread until there was only one piece left…I only ate one of the meatballs we had for an appetizer. Everything was delicious and I didn’t walk away from the restaurant feeling like I had given anything up.

Did I go over my points that night? Probably. Was I perfect? Nope. But, I kept up my end of the deal that I wouldn’t drink, that I didn’t need to have the creamy pasta dishes on the menu, that I didn’t have to let go of the plan because I went out to dinner.

The rest of the week went along quite well. Each day of “magic” was just that…magic. However, it wasn’t magic because I was perfect, it was magic because I realized that I didn’t have to be perfect. Perfection is a fallacy I have held for myself for far too long. Unfortunately, it is just that desire for perfection and failure of obtaining that perfection that I believe set me in the path I continually fight to get off of. It is a difficult process – it is letting go, and it is probably something I will continually have to work on for the rest of my life.

Here is what I have learned: Perfection is not necessary to have success or to be a good person.  People do not love me for being perfect…it’s my flaws that give me character. Realizing that is truly magical.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

