A Deliciously Plump Seal

I did it. I got in the ocean this morning! Well, it was the bay, but it was salty and water from the ocean, so close enough. It was crazy exciting and scary.

I wasn’t worried about the temperature, as I was wearing a wet suit (you should have seen all the women and men NOT wearing wet suits!). It was wearing the wet suit that made me the most nervous, because I really do look like a deliciously plump seal. But, there were no creatures in the water, so I was safe.

I didn’t go out too far. I swam back and forth from the end of the pier back to shore a few times and then decided I was ready to venture beyond. I stayed closer to shore but was able to actually swim – even with my face in the water! The best part? Every time I lifted my head, the view was the Golden Gate Bridge! That was pretty cool!

After we were finished, my wonderful friend and mentor, Erin and I were talking about how far I have come – 2-3 years ago I was terrified to put my face in the Russian River. Hell! I wasn’t even a swimmer 2-3 years ago and now look at me…getting in the bay and swimming around like I own the joint. OK. I wasn’t that confident, but this is my blog so go with it.

My point is this…I kind of amaze myself sometimes in the things that I say I can’t or won’t do and then SHAZAM! there I go proving myself wrong. Looking back, there have been so many things in my life that I stopped myself from doing because I was afraid – afraid of the thing, afraid of how I will look, afraid of people judging me, afraid of getting hurt or afraid of failing. I think too many times I have passed on amazing opportunities because I let my fear dictate my life. 

Today I didn’t let that fear tell me I could or couldn’t do…I just did – looking deliciously plump and everything!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Deliciously Plump Seal

  1. Mom says:

    I am not sure I want to know you are swimming with sharks looking like a seal. Mom

  2. Jessica says:

    Very cute post! I am so impressed you swam in the ocean!

  3. Angela says:

    I remember this exact feeling Stacie! Just keep doing it, it gets a little easier with time. Although I haven’t been back in the bay since my golden gate swim….maybe I should look at it again and think about another tri 🙂 It’s been a while!

Leave a Reply

