I will let Amy Poehler tell the rest…

For those of you that know me, have read my back story, or whatever, you know that I used to be overweight. I still struggle with my weight – I am not the “number” on the scale that I want to be, and sometimes, instead of being happy with what my body is and what my body can do, I focus on not being that number.

Here is what you may not know…I was a rather small kid, but I also hit puberty in sixth grade, and literally had boobs and hips overnight. I cried when my mom told me I had to wear a bra, but what made me cry the most was the name the kids in my school came up with. Mind you, I wasn’t overweight. I just suddenly weighed more, but to them I became “oil tanker”. I am 37 years old and this still follows me – I still think about it.

I believe that had someone sat me down and taught me the lessons I now teach as a Girls on the Run coach, or what Amy Poehler says in the linked video, I wouldn’t have struggled with my weight my entire life. I wouldn’t have lived in the vicious circle that I still feel trapped in at times.

But, every once in awhile, a video or something comes up that pulls me out of that vicious circle of not being good enough, skinny enough, whatever enough and it all comes swirling back into perspective. I am filled with SO MUCH gratitude for the body I have – not just how I physically look (I have great hair), but for my brain, for my ability to ride, run and swim and my ability to love – not only the people around me, but myself.

So, thank you Amy Poehler for the wonderful reminder.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I will let Amy Poehler tell the rest…

  1. Amy says:

    We all need these amazing reminders from time to time- one of my favorite quotes from a song is ” I’ve got a perfect body but sometimes I forget… I’ve got a perfect body cuz my eyelashes catch my sweat… yes they do, yes they do…..” I made a human being in this body o’ mine and that’s pretty cool. Love you Stacie for your daily inspiration in the way you live your life.

Leave a Reply

