Monthiversary: The small milestones are as important as the big

Wow! It has been so long since I wrote anything here that they have completely changed the appearance of WordPress and I didn’t even know!

Having taken 2014 off from major training, I guess it left me with little to say in regard to my athletic endeavors. However, I am still as active as I ever was – I still run, I still ride, I still swim and today I celebrate my monthiversay of doing crossfit at Crossfit Flat Back Hills.

I won a free month to try out the new crossfit gym in town and I started last month with the simple intention of just going for the month and doing something different. However, after the first week, I was sold…I had “drank the Kool-aid”.

Crossfit has not only changed my body, but it has changed my mind as well. I have become a more confident person – more confident in doing the things I didn’t think I could do before. Nope. I can’t do toes to bar or pull ups YET, but I can hold myself on the bar with “active shoulders” for 10 seconds (my previous “record” was five seconds – and the 10 seconds I hung there was treated with as much excitement from those I workout with as if I had just done 100 pull-ups). I can do a handstand. I can push press 70 pounds. I can back squat 75 pounds. And when I can’t do something, I don’t see it as a failure, I see it as a challenge – a challenge not just to my body, but my mind. See, if you have read ANY of my posts at all, you know I have always struggled with mentally sabotaging myself, telling myself I can’t do something (which is HILARIOUS considering I don’t all ANY of the girls I coach to use the word can’t)…convincing myself that I will never be able to do it fast enough, good enough – blah, blah, blah.

As I celebrate my monthiversary with Crossfit FBH, I look forward to what this next year is going to show me about myself and all that I can and will accomplish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

