Going, Going, Gone!

Warning: this isn’t really about sport.

Over two years ago I started on a journey that was filled with lots of pain (and pain meds), frustration, a little bit of fear and a whole lotta talk about my ovary. For two years I dealt with rupturing cysts (at the start line for a marathon, any time of day or night, during a half Ironman triathlon, in the middle of the woods) and doctors telling me “it was normal” and “just what some women go through”, refusing to do anything beyond throw drugs at me to “deal with the pain as needed” and never really explaining why this was happening or what was truly going on with my body.

That all changed when Dr. Parker entered my life after a very scary trip to the ER. During a follow-up visit, Dr. Parker sat us down and clearly explained what was happening and what it meant. He not once dismissed any fears or concerns I had – he agreed that we would monitor my condition monthly and that we weren’t going to just pass it off at “just something some women go through”.

Skip ahead several months of monitoring and here I am, five days away from laparoscopic surgery to remove the offensive ovary and both fallopian tubes (as a precaution since my grandmother had ovarian cancer).

Here are a few things I have learned:

1. Speak louder when you aren’t being heard – find the person who will listen to and help you
2. I am a better caretaker than I am a patient…I had to reminded several times to let others do things for me
3. Laughter really is the best medicine, but can be painful after abdominal surgery
4. Kaiser San Rafael surgery has some of the most loving, caring and amazing nurses
5. I have a magnificent support system
6. I am really impatient…I was getting angry my third day out of surgery because I was getting tired so easily
7. I am strong

Hey! Watch me turn this to sport:
1. Let the positive voice inside your head be the loudest voice you hear – drown out the negative voice, telling you that you can’t do something
2. Let people cheer you on – you don’t always have to be the cheerleader
3. Laughter during hard workouts is the best medicine
4. OK… not sure how to turn awesome nurses to sport
5. I have a magnificent training/support system
6. Be patient…as the saying goes, even slow progress is progress and the other saying about a 12 minute mile still being a mile
7. I am strong

And now that it is gone, we can finally stop talking about my friggin’ ovary!

My family, helping me recover with cuddles.

My family, helping me recover with cuddles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going, Going, Gone!

  1. Baca Of Bend says:

    I don’t think I could like this post enough! On to putting your energy back into all things and people that are important to you.
    I love you!

  2. Julie says:

    a 12 minute mile is the only kind of mile i can do…and it feels amazing everytime! 🙂 is there anything D and I can do to help while you are in surgery?

Leave a Reply

